top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristyn

10 Helpful Things I Learned

Updated: Jul 20, 2019

Studying abroad was a lot of things for me. It was fun, challenging, and I really learned a lot about myself: who I am, what I like to do, what makes me different, and what I had to learn. Everything wasn't easy and I learned a lot through trial and error, but I definitely loved my experience and recommend studying abroad.


Ten Helpful Things for Future Students:

1. Learn some local phrases. 🌟

2. Have fun, but don’t forget to give yourself time to relax. If you don't take care of yourself, you might end up sick. 🤒

3. Keep your travel plans and deadlines noted on your Google calendar or planner. You're going to have so much going on. ✅

4. Go out to campus events, especially in the beginning of the semester, because that’s where I met most of my closest friends. 👯‍♀️

5. Don’t forget about your life back home (class registration time, family, and other responsibilities in clubs, internships, jobs, etc). Stay in touch via social media, call home (I used WhatsApp), and keep checking your emails. 💕

6. Don't rely on finding free WiFi. Buy a SIM card before you travel to other countries. You're going to need the data/minutes especially if you get lost or need help. 📱

7. Bring long pants. It'll keep you warm during the early months and protect you towards the start of the summer when there's a lot of mosquitoes. Trust me. 😬

8. On your nights out, keep track of when the last train runs, so you don’t miss it. On the way to CUHK, there is a lot of transferring, so give yourself some time or else you have to go home by the night bus or taxi, which is more expensive. If you have to take a taxi, take the green one, because it's from New Territories and will be cheaper. 🚕

9. Participate in class and go to office hours when you can. Professors appreciate it and you’ll stand out, especially as an exchange student. 🙋🏻‍♀️

10. When you say you’re from Hawaii, emphasize the ‘w’ (Ha-why-ee, not Huh-wa-ee). This didn't happen all the time, but I was surprised by the difference it made with some people I met. 🌴




Don't forget: Before going, do your research on your options: where you want to go, what courses are being offered, your budget, the semester timeline, etc. Even if you are set on a specific place, it doesn't hurt to look at other possibilities. I didn't expect to end up choosing Hong Kong, but I'm glad I did. The most important thing is to find the best fit for you. ❤️

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page