top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristyn

I Hate Goodbyes, So Here's Some Thank Yous

Updated: May 28, 2019

I came to Hong Kong only knowing one person. She didn't go to my university and it would take about an hour and a half by train to get to where she was. The way I saw it was that most people were probably in the same situation: unfamiliar with the people and the place, but ready for the journey. At least, that's how I felt. I came here ready for a change, so I was eager to talk to people. I didn't expect to connect with so many people who would make studying abroad so much fun and leaving Hong Kong so hard.


I remember how I met everyone and all I can say is everything happens for a reason, and I'm so happy that things worked out the way it did. It's sad to see some of my friends go back already, but now it's my turn. I've said most of my goodbyes, but I hope everyone knows how grateful I am to have met them. It's only been several months, but it feels like I've known these people for longer than I did.

Club 7/11,

Thank you guys for being my first group of friends at CUHK. We would meet all kinds of people, but we would always came back to each other. Traveling with you all was so much fun and you each taught me something different. The guys seemed to know everything: Mason with history, Andy with tech, and Chris could answer almost any question we had about CU. And I could always relate to you girls in a different way: Patty and Angela, I've had a class with each of you and I know you guys work hard and play hard. Patty, thank you for being the navigator and always being the MVP on our nights out. Ang, you have the best song recommendations and I love that we both thought the same thing in our finance class lol. Lucy, I know I could always go to you whenever I needed advice on fitness, workout clothes, makeup, and where to find good food. Spending that day in Japan with you was fun: bunnies, otters!!, donuts, and buying anime keychains for the guys in our lives. May, I still remember the conversation we had in that ramen restaurant in the beginning of the semester. It was nice to know there was someone I could relate to like that. You're so strong and always make us laugh. Rita, thank you for being like a big sister and mom to me. We could not be any more different, but I know I can always be honest with you and I'm so glad I got you as a roommate. You're a great listener and you're always prepared.


Oneighty,

I love you guys so much. You're all so encouraging, supportive, and fun to be around. I never feel like I'm being judged and can't imagine not getting to know you guys. You guys are one of the main reasons why I need to come back to Hong Kong. Thank you for seeing the best in me, I really look up to you all.


Jerry guys,

You started as being just a friend of a friend to being like a big brother to me. You've helped me extend my friend group behind CUHK and I'm thankful that you were there to help me from the very beginning. I wish you guys did not live so far from me (or that I didn't live so far away), but I had fun whenever we got to hang out. We all need to get together again. It's going to be a crazy reunion.


Hong Kong,

You have become my second home. I've went through the toughest times and the best times here, but the good times definitely outweigh the bad. Thank you for an unbelievable start to this year, words nor pictures can describe how this has made me a stronger, empathetic person. I love all you have to offer and I cannot wait to reunite with you again in the future.

❤️, Kristyn

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page