top of page
  • Writer's pictureKristyn

Prepare for the Jetlag

How to recover quickly. Since Hawaii is 18 hours behind Hong Kong, I knew the time difference would be pretty difficult to adjust to when I came home (11pm in Hong Kong is 5am in Hawaii). It's going to be different for everyone, but it took me about 3-4 days to get back into my normal schedule. Here is some things that helped me when I got back home:

  • Don't be on your phone or eat dinner too late. It'll help you fall asleep earlier even if you're not feeling that tired.

  • Set an alarm to wake you up and remind you when to go to sleep. I set mines at 8:30am and 11pm, because I started work the next week and I needed to get used to waking up early.

  • Like always, drink a lot of water.

  • Workout. Even if you feel lazy, at least go outside for a walk or do some stretches at home. I swam a few laps in the pool to get some exercise. I honestly felt a lot better and it helped me sleep earlier too.

  • Relax and give yourself time before you start making plans. As much as I wanted to see my friends again, it was nice for me to stay in and hang out with my family.

Even though your jetlag feels longer than it should be, it's okay. It's only temporary and everybody's bodies adapt differently. It also depends on the time difference and what you're used to, but hopefully, you come back home strong, healthy, and happy. Traveling is a lot of fun--just do your best to be prepared!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page